Moving on Out (for now)

house on wheelsAnyone out there? Hey! If you’re reading this, thanks for checking back from time to time.  So it’s been a while since I posted and decided to make an official, yet indefinite, suspension of this blog.

There are a few reasons why. First and foremost, a lack of energy. Things have been a bit hectic. I left the IFB last year and have been working odd jobs since then. I’ve also joined a new church and have been trying to get more involved therein. In addition, a friend and I have been studying Hebrew together and since I have a tendency to procrastinate, I get the feeling of guilt if I spend time writing a blog post when I should be studying.

Being in an actual Reformed church, I feel like I’m also learning a lot of new things. The more I study theology, the less relevant things in fundamentalism seem to be. As I’ve stated before, fundamentalism doesn’t need to be reformed, it needs to be left. That is, for those who feel differently about certain doctrine and methodology. Please don’t take that as, if you’re a fundamentalist you have to leave your church. What I mean is that the generation of “young, restless, reformed” shouldn’t seek to be the bridge builders between fundamentalists and evangelicals or the reformers that turn their churches into something different. Just respectfully leave, appreciate what you’ve experienced, and move on. That’s what I did, and now the topic of What’s Wrong in Fundamentalism doesn’t seem so attractive.

I was also motivated by Bob Bixby’s last and final post on Penses (in my view, a must-read). Really, I’ve got nothing left to say in this area. If I return to a personal blog one day, it will have a bit of a different direction. This isn’t to say I won’t hit on contemporary theological issues, which will touch on fundamentalist issues from time to time. But I’d rather focus on topics that are pertaining to where I’m at. After all, it is a personal blog. I’m just trying to figure out where I am at indeed.

But I will be taking my oddly constructed sentences over to my team blogs, King James Only? and Fundamentally Changed. The pseudo doctrine of KJVO still affects many individuals and churches, and I’m glad to be a part of a website that provides information for those who want to look further into it. As for Fundamentally Changed, I actually haven’t contributed yet even though I’ve been a member for months. It will hit on fundamentalistic topics. I plan on reposting a few things and contributing from time to time, but not as often as King James Only. Then, we’ll take it from there. Thank you for all who have read and commented.

2 comments so far

  1. fundyreformed on

    Good post, Damien. I understand where you’re coming from. Blessings to you, Bob.

  2. […] blogging friend Damien, just pulled the plug on his blog.  His last post is worth reading.  For now, I”m going to keep mine running.  But I’ll plan on taking […]


Leave a Reply

