Good Friday

1116601_cross

Job 9:30 If I wash myself with snow
and cleanse my hands with lye,
31 yet you will plunge me into a pit,
and my own clothes will abhor me.
32 For he is not a man, as I am, that I might answer him,
that we should come to trial together.
33 There is no arbiter between us,
who might lay his hand on us both. (ESV)

Because of the wretched sinfulness of man, Job knew that there was no bargaining with God. Man is so rebellious and tainted by sin that he cannot even argue with God. God is so holy and removed from sin that He will not come into contact with sin and compromise His holy majesty. So Job cried for an arbiter. Someone Who can lay hands on both God and man. Someone Who is holy like God yet lowly like man. Someone who can represent man without sinning, because sin would cancel any opportunity to reason with God. Truly, only a God-Man with sinless record can accomplish this task.

I Timothy 2:5 For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus (ESV)

On the cross of Calvary, Friday night, 2,000+ years ago, Jesus of Nazareth became the arbiter for which Job longed. He, being literally an incarnate man, paid for the sins of sinful human beings in His own body. He, being literally God Himself, satisfied the wrath of God for our sins. Though it took a brutal death and humiliation, for us, this truly was a “Good Friday.” May everyone have a blessed Good Friday.

 Romans 5:8 but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (ESV)

3 comments so far

  1. phil on

    I think you may be off by a day. I think Jesus died on

    Thursday since he died on Passover. Pasover started on

    6:00pm on Wenesday night during which the “Last Supper”

    betrayal, and trial took place and he was brought to

    Pilate the next morning and crucified. Then he would have

    been burried at 6:00pm yesterday. I think there are still

    two more days to go,but you still end up with the

    resurrection on a Sunday.

  2. Damien T Garofalo on

    Hey phil, thanks for commenting.

    I intended this post to be devotional, rejoicing in the atoning sacrifice of our Lord and Savior on the cross of Calvary.

    You bring up a point that would better be discussed in a different post, possibly in the near future. But I recommend trying to cover this issue as best you can (not asuming you haven’t already), and take a look at the sides presented. Though the majority is not always right, I think the majority of Christianity recognizes Good Friday for good reasons. The evidence for a Friday crucifixion is overwhelming. Other proposals fall short of the biblical data, in my opinion.

    We’ll tackle that another time, though. God bless!

  3. phil on

    I broght it up because i had benn thinking about it since

    Wenesday when Passover began at 6:00pm.A while back I read

    Will Duudind’s blog post on the feast of the lord which

    mentioned that Jesus died on Psssover. Last year at Easter

    I realized that Passover had been a month before which

    means so had the ressurection. Passover and Easter don’t

    always fall on the same month. This year they just happen

    to do so. I did get thye kind of devotional mood of it

    though.I was measuring it by the way Jewish days are and

    Friday just did’nt seem to fit the way jewish days are

    spanned. Have a good Easter.


Leave a Reply

